Christmas @ Gordale, Burton

Hello Lovelies!

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas isn’t it?  There are already quite a few houses near us that have been decorated with loads of lights, some have been up since November!  I’m sorry, but November is far too early for me!  When I was little my parents never put the decorations or Christmas Tree up until after I’d gone to bed on Christmas Eve, they’d tell me that Father Christmas and The Elves had put them up during their visit to deliver my presents!  I’d go to bed, full of excitement, having left a mince pie with a glass of whisky for the bearded gentleman and a carrot with a saucer of milk for the red nosed one!

Unfortunately, one Christmas Eve when I couldn’t sleep from the excitement , I heard my Mum ripping the cello tape, wrapping my last minute presents and I guessed that my gifts actually came from my parents!  Still, I did manage to continue to enjoy the Christmas traditions and have always really loved the decorations, lights, carols and general atmosphere at this time of year.  That’s why we decided to take a trip out to Gordale Garden Centre in Burton to see their Christmas displays as we’d heard they were particularly pretty.

There’s also a great big café there to grab a bite to eat at too so we thought we would try it out, a word of warning though it gets extremely busy or at least on the Wednesday we visited it was!  It’s one of those self service jobs and it get very loud inside, although I will say the scone and the coffee were exceptionally good!

Gordale is not just a Garden Centre, they sell lots of different products from Hunter wellies through to candles, books and clothing!  The Christmas displays are lovely and they have every kind of decoration imaginable!  There is even a room dedicated to Christmas lighting and of course you can visit the big guy himself at Santa’s Grotto, it’s super Christmassy and I recommend a visit to get you into the spirit of things!

Christmas at Gordale 2

There are decorations to suit all colour scheme choices from the traditional through to the more contemporary styles.

Christmas at Gordale 3

Gordale Christmas 1

There also must be literally hundreds of cute Christmas characters available.

Christmas at Gordale 4

Christmas at Gordale 5

Gordale has a great range of faux trees but outside you will find the real deal and the smell is amazing.  I just love that pine tree smell and so wish we had the room for a real tree in the house this year, but alas we shall just make do with our old faithful fibre optic one.

Christmas at Gordale 7

Christmas at Gordale 8

If like us you don’t have the space for a real tree then you might consider one of these lovely wreaths, I think they make such a lovely traditional adornment for front doors. 

Christmas at Gordale 9

Have you put your decorations up yet?  Do you have any family traditions you like to follow at this time of year?

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream XOXO

Gordale Garden and Home Centre is open daily from 9.00am and 10.00am on Sundays (Check the Gordale Website for closing times as several days a week they are open until 9.00pm)

Santa’s Grotto is open on week days from 11.00 – 4.30pm and weekends from 2.00-4.30pm, until 23rd December.  Entrance is 5.00GBP (cash only).  All proceeds go to The Clatterbridge Cancer Charity and The Hospice of the Good Shepherd.

2 thoughts on “Christmas @ Gordale, Burton

  1. Vicki says:

    Gordale is lovely, I haven’t been yet but have done Burleydam which is just up the road. Very Christmassy indeed. I’m afraid our decorations started going up late November, I’m feeling super festive this year and couldn’t wait! Xx

    Like

    • gingerandcream says:

      Ah, I was going to go any check out Burleydam myself but will go on a week day I think as I saw someone mention on Facebook that if you’ve lost the will to live then go up there and it will finish you off! I assume it was the weekend and queuing for Santa was involved! lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

