Brunch @ Blackberry Grove, New Brighton

Hello Lovelies

You will no doubt know by now how much I love getting out and about to try new places to eat and drink, especially if they’re independent businesses, so I was particularly excited to hear of a new eatery opening in New Brighton on our wonderful leisure peninsula!

Blackberry Grove is located the corner of Grosvenor & Victoria Roads, just a bit back up the hill from the promenade.  The owner Joanna is a Vegetarian with a Vegan partner, she says that the restaurant has been born as a result of their frustration at the lack of great places in the area where they could eat alongside meat loving family and friends without being limited to mushroom risotto or veggie lasagne, yawnsville!!  The menu at Blackberry Grove therefore promises to offer something for everyone to enjoy, with adventurous veggie options featured alongside dishes to satisfy those meat eaters too!  After following the refurbishment and set up process via their Twitter account, I couldn’t wait to try it and visited on the opening weekend with my Vegetarian chum for a post yoga session brunch.

Upon entering we were given a friendly and enthusiastic welcome by Joanna herself and took our pick of the available tables, settling for a window seat.  It was around 11.30 when we arrived and the perfect time for coffee so I ordered a cup whilst we looked over the menu.

Blackberry Grove Coffee 1

The coffee was piping hot and strong enough to wake me up again from that end of yoga class meditation daze!  It was also served with this rather quirky design of a milk jug.

The interior of Blackberry Grove offers a relaxed vibe with natural wood featuring heavily alongside colourful artwork and comfy cushions.  You can see into the kitchen, something I always particularly like in a restaurant.  The soundtrack on our visit got the thumbs up from me as it included a bit of MGMT’s “Electric Feel” which is one of my faves.

After having had a good look at the menu and thinking that lots of things sounded worthy of a try we decided we rather fancied something breakfasty, given that it was still a little too early for lunch.  We both ordered the Grove Brunch (5.95), a vegan friendly dish consisting of five bean sausage, hash potatoes, roasted tomato, mushrooms, Heinz beans and toast. 

Blackberry Grove Brunch 1

I was particularly impressed by the sausage which had such a lovely flavour and was a vast improvement on the usual quorn sausages so often offered as a veggie breakfast option.  I personally don’t like to eat quorn after reading about what it actually consists of a while back, I have not touched it since.  This sausage was so lovely I even asked where they got them from as I was hoping to buy some myself to eat at home, it turns out that these are actually handmade by the Chef, perhaps I can sweet talk him?  though most likely I shall just have to visit again!  The potatoes were also extremely delicious, no undercooked hard bits here!  They reminded me of the breakfast potatoes I used to order at the Intercontinental Times Square, NYC in my previous life, perfect!  The grilled flat mushrooms made a much tastier addition to the plate than the usually button variety.  To put it bluntly I wolfed it down and cleaned the plate!

On the whole I was impressed with Blackberry Grove, given it was opening weekend, I’m sure things can only go from strength to strength here as Jo is so passionate about the place and the menu.  If you are looking for a great place to eat that has food to suit all taste buds, is freshly made and can take into account allergies (The restaurant is Nut free and many dishes are Gluten free, I believe) then head on over to try it, I’ll certainly be visiting again soon!  Best of all it’s an independent business in amongst all those chains in New Brighton, which is fab!  So please show your support, oh and don’t forget you can always just pop by for a drink too!

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream XOXO

Ginger and Cream plus chum paid for all their own food and drink.

Find the Restaurant

Blackberry Grove, 3 Grosvenor Road, New Brighton, Wirral, CH45 2LW.  Contact Telephone: 0151 639 9608 

Header Photo Courtesy of Blackberry Grove, Photography by Hannah Cassidy Creative

Leave a Reply

