Pure Nidra at Yoga You Sanctuary

Hello Lovelies!

If you are a regular reader then you will know that I’ve been struggling with pain in my back and ribs these past few weeks.  That means I’m more than a little sleep deprived!  It’s really getting me down as I really love my sleep, I’m a touch grumpy without it and that’s not like me!

I’ve been going along to classes at Yoga You Sanctuary in Liscard for a few weeks now and really enjoying them, finding some relief in the stretches, poses, breathing exercises and meditation.  The owner Ann, is passionate about yoga and has a wonderful calming persona, you can tell that she practices what she preaches!  The studio itself has that gloriously relaxing aroma of essential oils, cozy under floor heating and makes for a very welcoming environment. 

Several times a year Ann holds various workshops with visiting practitioners such as Kundalini Yoga, Immersion Meditation and Yoga Philosophy.  You will also find Birthing Partner classes, Body Care Treatments and Stress Busting Yoga, check the website for upcoming workshops.  When I saw that the latest workshop was for Pure Nidra “Sleepless Sleep” I thought that it sounded right up my street and jumped at the chance to try it, hoping to recharge those rather diminished batteries of mine!  After checking with Ann whether we were suitable candidates for the workshop I booked a spot each for me and my Mum, who often has trouble sleeping. 

yoga-429718__180

Yoga Nidra or lucid sleeping is considered to be “among the deepest possible states of relaxation while still maintaining full consciousness.”  It has been said that potentially there are immediate physical benefits, such as reduced stress, better sleep and as a meditation practice, it offers practitioners a sense of joy and well-being.  Essentially it is a guided meditation practiced lying down for typically 35 – 40 minutes at a time, although this workshop was a 90 minute duration.  If you have any problems in lying down then you can always modify your position to lie on your side, sit comfortably with your back against the wall or in a chair and still reap the benefits of the meditation.  Make sure you have enough pillows, a warm cover and some socks as your body temperature can drop during the practice.

I’d never tried anything like this before except the shorter meditations offered at the end of most yoga classes, so I was really looking forward to what the session would offer and also intrigued to see whether I could stop my mind from running away from the voice guide.  I was amazed that I actually managed to stay with Ann’s voice for the vast majority of the session, a small blip was encountered when I had a bit of pain in my arm from my flu jab the day before and had to have a little wriggle, otherwise I was away, floating in another level of awareness.  When the session came to a close I could barely believe it had been 30 minutes let alone 90!  I felt such a sense of pure relaxation and relief, like I had just experienced the longest most deepest of sleeps after suffering days of jet lag!  My body felt floaty and my mind was completely clear.

I slept like a log for the next 3 nights but now I’m in need of a top up session, luckily there are many guided Nidra practices to try out at home on YouTube (I suspect some will be better than others though) .  If you are interested to know more about Yoga Nidra then I would suggest Google is a good place to start, there are many informative articles and studios offering practice.  If you are suffering from the stresses and strains of life I certainly would recommend it! NAMASTE.

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream XOXO

Yoga You Sanctuary is located at 235 Liscard Road, Wallasey, Wirral, CH44 5TH, Telephone: 0151 639 9699

Sources

Wikipedia

Yoga Journal

Images

Pixabay

Leave a Reply

