Healthy(ish) Breakfast Pancakes

Healthish Pancakes Header

Hello Lovelies!

Gosh I’m so far behind with posts this month but I’ve had a bad back and just couldn’t face sitting at the desk to work on the laptop at all!  I’m pleased to say that with plenty of yoga and some chiropractic help it’s eased off somewhat now and I’m finally able to bare it!

Despite the bad back my appetite has been it’s normal self!  The other week I fancied a different kind of weekend breakfast, I really miss those lovely fluffy American style pancakes that I was lucky enough to feast on stateside for years when I was working in those big tin cans up in the sky!  Try as I might it’s still very difficult to find breakfast alternatives to the great British fry up in Birkenhead and it’s environs!  I therefore had to set about making some myself, I wanted something a little on the healthier side though and so I went off to Uncle Google for some advice.

I found a wonderful recipe for Whole wheat Oatmeal Pancakes at Sally’s Baking Addiction that I adapted slightly to suit the ingredients I had knocking around in the cupboards and the fridge.  Sally’s blog is full of tasty, wholesome and delicious recipes, well worth a visit if you like to get your bake on!

Here’s the recipe and my adjustments (next to them), they still turned out fantastic and will definitely be on my staple recipe list!  So don’t be afraid to have a go even if you don’t have the exact ingredients!

Ingredients (Makes around 7-8 pancakes)

123g whole wheat flour (or white whole-wheat) 

40g quick oats

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 large egg

240ml milk I USED SEMI SKIMMED

2 Tablespoons packed dark brown sugar (or light brown) I USED 1 1/2 Tablespoons MAPLE SYRUP AS I HAD NO BROWN SUGAR

63g Greek yogurt I USED REGULAR PLAIN YOGURT INSTEAD

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup add-ins like chocolate chips or fruit, optional I SIMPLY SLICED UP FRUITS AND ADDED BERRIES ON THE TOP RATHER THAN INCORPORATING INTO THE MIXTURE, SO THAT PEOPLE COULD CHOOSE THEIR OWN FLAVOURS

Method

Sally’s method involves mixing the dry and wet ingredients separately before incorporating together.  I just bunged everything together in the bowl and gave it a good mix, not too vigorous mind as you don’t want to loose any air from the mixture.

Put the oven on around 100 to keep the finished pancakes warm until the whole batch is done.

Place a knob of butter in a small frying pan over a medium heat, I always like to wipe away any excess with a piece of kitchen paper.  When the butter is melted and the pan coated add a ladle full of the pancake mixture to the pan and gently ease it into a circular shape.

Cook for about 1 minute or until the edges begin to look dry and bubbles start to form on the surface then flip and cook for another 2 minutes or so.  (If in doubt, I just gently ease the pancake up from the pan to check the colour.  You’re looking for a nice golden brown.

Once this pancake is done pop it on a tray or plate (but don’t forget it’s hot will you!) in the oven and start the process from the beginning.  This is why I like using  the kitchen paper as I usually have enough butter on it grease the pan again by simply giving the pan a quick wipe with it.

Healthyish Pancakes

Voila! There you have them, healthy(ish) fluffy and lovely pancakes!  All kinds of Yum!

It’s best to serve the pancakes immediately, we devoured ours sprinkled with some naughty icing sugar, sliced Bananas, Strawberries, yogurt and a just touch of maple syrup.  However, you can be as creative as you want with toppings, nuts, choc chips, blueberries, you could even make a savoury version, just skip the sugar! 

What do you enjoy as a weekend breakfast alternative?

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream

Recipe adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

2 thoughts on “Healthy(ish) Breakfast Pancakes

Leave a Reply

