Lunch @ Isabelles Tea & Cakes, Heswall

 Hello Lovelies

Isabelles Tea and Cakes 3

Following on from my Walking The Wirral Way post, I thought I would tell you all about the lovely lunch we had afterwards at Isabelle’s Tea & Cakes in Heswall. 

I’d spied the tea room a few days previously whilst having a wonder around the shops with my Mum and I thought it would be the perfect place for us to be fed and watered after our walk, I wasn’t wrong!  I should tell you that Isabelle’s is extremely popular so if you don’t want to be disappointed I recommend that you ring ahead and reserve a table, we were very lucky to get the last one when we arrived around 1.30 ish. 

Photo Credit: Courtesy of Isabelles Management via Trip Advisor (linked to source)

Photo Credit: Courtesy of Isabelles Management via Trip Advisor (linked to source)

I love the interior design here, it’s so fresh and simple (no sign of chintz around here) with elegant touches such as the chandeliers, muted tones and large boudoir style mirrors.  The menu features breakfast, light bites, sandwiches and cakes accompanied by a range of loose leaf teas, coffees and even wine if you should fancy a tipple.  They also do Afternoon Tea after 2 pm.  All the cakes are homemade and baked daily so there is always something different to try out if you’ve a sweet tooth like me!

We both decided to go for the Prawn, Avocado and Lemon Mayonnaise Sandwiches, which were accompanied by a dressed side salad and the most delicious crisps I’ve had in a long time (I must ask where they get them next time, I feel an addiction coming on!)  The sandwiches were so light and fresh, we really enjoyed them.  My friend plumped for a pot of tea and I went for a decaf cappuccino to accompany our choice of cakes, we just couldn’t resist them, after all we had just done all that walking!  We went for a slice of Carrot Cake and a slice of Chocolate Torte to share!  Scrumptious though filling!  The Carrot Cake was generously spiced just how I like it, you could tell these cakes are homemade with love, much better than any bought in pre portioned desserts you find in a lot of places have these days.

Lovely light bread and plenty of prawns

Lovely light bread and plenty of prawns

Generous slices of Carrot Cake and Chocolate Torte

Generous slices of Carrot Cake and Chocolate Torte

The lovely young ladies waiting tables were wonderfully polite, helpful and very hardworking.  Isabelle’s is spotless, tables are cleared quickly, cleaned and floors swept, this is so great to see!  I am so sick of going to places and being surrounded by tons of dirty cups and plates stacked up on tables whilst staff stand behind the counters twiddling thumbs!  (I have yet to find a Costa Coffee that passes my standards test! Hmmm)  Anyway, I know where I would rather stop for mid shop refreshments that’s for sure, give me a fabulously well run independent café or tea room like Isabelle’s any day of the week!

I loved this place so much I went back over the weekend for another sample with my Mum, this time we went for the Quiche, a Panini, Pot of Peppermint Tea and a slice of refreshing Key Lime Pie (this time we shared though! ;-))

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream XOXO

Isabelle’s Tea & Cakes has a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence and can be found at;

256 Telegraph Road, Heswall CH60 7HG

Contact Telephone: 0151 342 6550

Note: Ginger and Cream and her Mum paid for all their own meals at Isabelle’s.

Leave a Reply

