Too Old For A Tutu?

Hello Lovelies

Do you think I’m too old for a Tutu?

I was thinking about it and since SJP is now the big 5-0 that means she was in her early to mid 30’s when she was starring as Carrie in SATC and Carrie sure loved to rock a Tutu!  I mean, who can forget the pink tutu from the SATC opening credits?! 

SJP as Carrie Bradshaw in the famous pink tutu

SJP as Carrie Bradshaw in the famous pink tutu

The funny thing is I’m not usually a fan of flouncy clothes, I don’t actually possess any kind of frou frou, but tutu’s just seem to have an unexplained appeal to me.  I think it’s possibly because I always wanted one as a young girl and never got one!  I spent years going to ballet classes down at the civic centre, stood behind a placcy chair practicing my feet positions in the hope of getting to go up on tippy toes, wear the more beautiful shoes with ribbons on, get a tutu and everything!  I never got past the leotard, home made leg warmers and wrap around cardi get up!

I loved opening the Swan Lake jewelry box that was given to me by my auntie and uncle for being their bridesmaid, the beautiful figurine that spun inside was what I wanted to be.  I wasn’t a particularly girly girl but all the same I still wanted to be a princess with grace and elegance.  I wanted the tutu, I wanted the blocks, to point my toes properly and leap, not stand behind a chair feet frozen in first position for half an hour while we waited for the naughty girls to actually pay attention!  I wanted to be a proper ballerina, well for 5 minutes at least!

Alas, despite a few dance exams, I can still hear the woman on the tape recording saying “Internahtional Dahnce Teachers Association” in a clipped RP voice, it became pretty clear that I was never going to graduate to tutus or satin shoes and an interest in Bros and boys took over.  Thank goodness, have you seen a ballerina’s feet?! and yet still, all these years later ballet shoes and tutu’s still have the ability to make me swoon and gush like a Disney princess!  Have you seen the repetto store in Dubai Mall?  OMG!  I daren’t venture passed the entrance because if I do I will no doubt come up with some hair brained idea of starting adult ballet classes, convince Hubs that I need the shoes and then end up hanging them on the wall or something!

So, what do you think?  Is a mid 30’s woman too old to realise her tutu wearing dreams? (Please, please say no!!)  To help you decide, here’s some lovely inspiration pictures from that beautiful thing called Pinterest we all (myself included) seem to do so well at wasting time on….

80fc26f384a02a3c614c52c26ce1571e

08316b2e79d637af467c663dac1c68049761b1165b4f9fe01e657f97def7498e

8d6c065ae4d5951ae687d153d7144eba

ef15f50569ebf8612d08296aef5b1f53

Damn it!  I don’t care what you say!  I’m going to get one anyway, I’ll never wear it but why change the habit of a lifetime hey?!  Ok, some of these are more tulle midi’s than all out tutus but still, all that lovely swishing around you can do in them!!!  Someone pass me a chair!!  First, Second, Third, Forth, Fifth hmm now what was it with the arms again?!

Toodles!  or should that be Tutules?!

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream XOXO

All images are from pinterest and I’ve tried to link to source as far as possible, if you see yourself and want it down or credited please let me know and I will of course do so.

2 thoughts on “Too Old For A Tutu?

Leave a Reply

