Wednesday Wants and Wishes – 10th Sept 2014

  wednesday wants and wishes

Hello Lovelies,

I haven’t done one of these for a while, but something a tad spooky happened this week that made me think of resurrecting these Wednesday posts. I was numbing the pain of having just shelled out a small fortune for our internet bill by taking a jaunt around the designer shops, looking at beautiful things and day dreaming when something stopped me dead and drew me in through the doors of Burberry.  There, displayed in the centre of the store resplendent in all it’s Cashmere and Scottish Wool glory sat one of this A/W’s most coveted items, yes it was non other than the Checked Blanket Poncho as sported by every “Super” you can think of!  OMG!  I just had to go inside and at least touch it! Poncho 6 This piece has been inspired by traditional equestrian blankets, is reversible and features a new interpretation of the classic Burberry check pattern.  The design is made in Scotland and finished with blanket stitch edges, hence it being known as a “Blanket Poncho”. It’s sold out pretty much everywhere except here! (another reason why living in the desert is just so damned good!) rest assured though, I was reliably informed that due to the overwhelming demand more are on their way soon. 

On the runway

On the runway

Now even us mere mortals can join Cara D and RHW by having our initials emblazoned on our ponchos as Burberry start a personalised monogramming service this month, which can also be availed on their scarf and perfume  collections.  Monogramming is HUGE at the moment!

Poncho Pic 6

Rosie Huntington-Whiteley in her Blanket Poncho

Olivia P in Poncho and seriously stunning Stuart Weitzman OTK Boots

Olivia P in Poncho and seriously stunning Stuart Weitzman OTK Boots

Suki Waterhouse

Suki Waterhouse

So, why was this spooky you may ask?  Well not 5 minutes after having heard the price (6395Dhs or 1080GBP! + extra for monogramming) and displaying my “That’s absolutely very reasonably priced and I shall be back very soon to purchase it” face, I got a Whatsapp from my friend Michelle.  I hadn’t heard from her for a while and her message rather randomly said and I quote “I love the Burberry monogrammed blanket capes! I want one! X” now if that’s not a sign that I should have one of these in my wardrobe then I don’t know what is!  I’m not sure what I would do with it out here in the desert mind, but it can get pretty chilly in the Air Conditioning, hmm it’s funny how when you want something you can always find a reason to have it no matter how slight! Given the price though I think I may need to keep this in my day dreams and work on my Plan B = A Scottish blanket with a hole cut in the middle and a trip down to the market for a more purse friendly version of personalisation!

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream XOXO

♥♥♥

Image Credits:

All Images are linked to their sources

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Wants and Wishes – 10th Sept 2014

Leave a Reply

