Green Almond Goodness

Hello Lovelies!

My mother in law has sent a big bag of Green Almonds over for my Husband to devour!  He absolutely loves them!  You may not have seen Green Almonds before, I know that I certainly hadn’t until a few years ago, when Hubs introduced them to me.  They can be somewhat elusive to find as they’re only available for a short period of time each year.

Green Almonds 1

So what are they? I hear you cry!  Well basically, they are the fruits of the Almond Tree, the Almonds we all know and love before they reach the stage that we normally eat them.  They have a green skin that’s kind of fuzzy like a Peach, the Almond is inside this skin but it’s not like we normally know it yet.  You eat them whole, they are really crunchy and release a bit of juice when you bite them. 

Green Almonds 2

They taste sort of sour, tangy and fresh.  I know that’s probably not the best description, they are quite unusual you see, the fuzzy skin feels a little strange on the tongue too!  I didn’t like them the first time I tried them but after much perseverance on Hubsters behalf I am now more than capable of polishing off quite a pile of them.  I am glad I he didn’t give up on me now though, as they are stuffed full of goodness of course!  Some benefits of eating Green Almonds are…….

1. Full of antioxidants – helping to detoxify the body and boost the immune system

2. Contain Vitamin E – good for the skin

3. Full of Phosphorus – helps to keep strong teeth and bones

4. Protein, Iron and Zinc – great for our hair

If you ever get lucky and find some, you simply must buy them and give them a try!  They are actually really delicious and so much better to snack on than crisps et al.  I just keep a bowl in the fridge so that they are cold and crisp.

If you are in Abu Dhabi, then you’re in luck as I just spotted some in Carrefour at Marina Mall for 10.95 AED a small pack!

Have you ever tried Green Almonds?  Did you like them?

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream XOXO

♥♥♥

3 thoughts on “Green Almond Goodness

Leave a Reply

