The Smiths, surprisingly good to work out to!

I know how he feels, despite 7 suitcases I haven't got a stitch to wear either!

I know how he feels, despite 7 suitcases I haven’t got a stitch to wear either!

Hello Lovelies!

Hope you’ve all been having the best of weekends!  I most certainly have!

After seriously neglecting my fitness regime over the past 6 months or so, I decided that today was the day to take the bull by the horns and get right back on it.  Having a gym on ones door step means excuses are no longer viable!  So off I trotted to begin anew!  I took it somewhat easy since I have a dodgy back and it’s going through one of it’s temperamental phases at the moment (could possibly be something to do with 7 Suitcases??)  I did a fast paced 2km walk on the treaders followed by a good old blast on the bike, in the words of my teenage self “I ragged it!”  Which may have been something to do with my discovery that The Smiths are surprisingly good to work out to!!  Yes indeed, repetitive dance music was banished and replaced with 1980’s indie.  Something akin to a spinning class was had, as I rather too merrily journeyed along to Morrissey’s croonings and Johnny Marr’s jangly guitar!  If anyone happened to pass by the gym, then lord only knows what they must have thought of this woman bouncing around in the saddle, mouthing along to “Bigmouth strikes again”! (a rather strange song to merrily bounce to I know, not sure what that says about me really)

446

It’s funny how listening to the music that makes you tick can encourage and uplift you to another level during your workouts.  Usually I listen to dancey stuff for the gym, but I often find that I push myself much harder when I work out to songs I really love.  I’ve done my best treadmill runs to some weird and wonderful musical choices, some of my faves include “Our time is running out” by Muse (I speed up for the chorus, to get some extra distance in), “Alive and Kicking” by Simple Minds (oops showing some age there!) and “Silvia” by Miike Snow (Live version, a whole 9 mins long! Again I go mad for the chorus!). Sometimes I have to remind myself that I am actually in the gym and not at the private party that’s going on in my head!  If I’m alone, I might sing out loud even!  I reckon that Whatever floats your exercise boat and gets the job done in the most enjoyable way is ok in my book.

Big Mouth!  Nahnananananah!

Big Mouth! Nahnananananah!

I’m hoping my back will behave itself enough for me to start trotting more vigorously tomorrow.  This is it! I am back on the exercise wagon!  (erm, that is if I can still move tomorrow after todays Smiths exertions!)

Have you got tunes you just love to workout to?

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream XOXO

♥♥♥

6 thoughts on “The Smiths, surprisingly good to work out to!

  1. Gingerjax says:

    I put my music on random when I workout and I’ve had some corkers…from Christmas songs in July to Einaudi. But my favourite has got to be anything by Muse or Fooc Fightewrs. I’m transported from the treadmill and sent in to my own music video listening to them. And I mouth the words. I don’t care who’s watching! 🙂

    I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award. Details are over on my blog 😀

    x

    http://www.justadd-ginger.co.uk

    Like

    • gingerandcream says:

      I get that completely! I am the same! lol. Ooh thanks very much, that’s so nice of you. Will get around to having a look at it as soon as I can. Us gingers have to support one another 😉 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

