Homemade Sweet Almond Hot Oil Hair Treatment

Homemade hot oil hair treatment

Hello Lovelies!

After all that ironing the other day, I fancied some ME time.  I am a big advocate of taking time to pamper oneself.  I don’t seem to get the chance to do it half as much as I used to these days, unfortunately.  I think it is important to take yourself out of the rat race we call modern living for a while and concentrate on doing something nice to yourself.  It gives you time to relax, recharge your batteries and rearrange your thoughts.  One of my favourite ways to chill out recently has been to have a good long soak in the bath.  I’ve always loved a nice bath, a good hot shower is hard to beat, but a bath just seems so much more luxurious.  My thoughts on this may well be connected to the lack of a combi-boiler in my youth!  I like to add a good oil such as REN Moroccan Rose Otto Oil or some bubbles to my bath, sink down into it and float away!  Mmm, bliss!

A bath was just what the Doctor ordered after having had the whole apartment up for a deep clean and my fight with the ironing board.  I decided that since I have been well and truly neglecting my hair of late, I would give myself a hot oil treatment.  You may recall that I am trying to embrace my original hair colour after many years (too many to mention here!) of being a bottle blonde.  I had a lot lobbed off the length in September and haven’t really touched it since.  My natural roots are down past my ears now and I am trying to convince people it’s meant to look like this, “it’s ombre” is the line I’m using.  I have been told it looks nice, but you never know if people really mean it do you?  Since laying off the dye jobs, my hair is probably in the best condition it’s been in since my late teens.  However, the blonde is clinging on for dear life and the ends are a little on the dry side, so I concocted an oil mixture to give it a good drink.

We have a great shop here called Bin Menqash, it’s kind of like a spice shop I suppose.  They sell all kinds of spices, natural soaps, flax seeds, nuts and oils.  It’s a great place to pick up oils that can be used on the hair and body.  I got some different oils there a while back, so I decided to put some of the Sweet Almond oil to good use.  I also whacked in some Argan Oil (a friend had brought back from Morocco), Olive Oil and a few drops of  Lavender essential Oil.  Here are just a small example of the benefits of these amazing natural oils

hair oils

Sweet Almond Hot Oil Treatment

Please do not use or make this treatment if you have any kind of nut allergy as it contains Almond Oil

2 TBSP Olive Oil

1 TBSP Sweet Almond Oil

1 TBSP Argan Oil

A couple of drops of Lavender Essential Oil

Method

Mix all the oils together in a glass jar  (I used an old cleaned out Nutella jar,  the contents of which are a distant memory, been dieting ever since!)

You can either place the jar in a bowl of hot water (not boiling) but I prefer to just float mine in the bath water as it is running.  Do this for a few minutes until the oils are warm.  You don’t want to heat them too much or they will lose their properties.

If you are not taking a bath then you will need to put on something old, as this stuff drips!

When the oil is warm start massaging it into your scalp, working your way down the length of the hair, until it is completely coated. 

Pop on a shower cap or wrap your hair in a clean plastic bag, wrap a warm towel around your head and relax for 30 minutes.

Wash out the oil with some gentle shampoo and leave to dry.

♣♣♣

This treatment smells wonderfully good and my hair was so much softer and shinier afterwards, I think I may do this once per week from now on. 

It really is amazing what these natural oils can do for our health and wellbeing.  In this day and age getting back to basics can really be an eye opener!  I probably would have spent top dollar on some kind of man made conditioning treatment in the past and not seen any improvement.  Mother nature truly is miraculous and should never be underestimated!

How do you like to spend your ME time?

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream XOXO

PS.  I have been spending a bit of time getting to grips with and trying my hand at some picture collage software.  I hope you like them?  They have taken me ages! Room for improvement still, but I will get there in the end.

♥♥♥

 

 

One thought on “Homemade Sweet Almond Hot Oil Hair Treatment

Leave a Reply

