Doctors, Book Clubs and Chicken Soup

Hello

Yesterday I may have mentioned that I was feeling a little under the weather?  A fleeting visit to the hossie has confirmed that I am in fact, suffering from the dreaded lurgy.  Having gagged on a wooden stick, had a Thermometer thrust under my tongue and my blood pressure taken the Doctor confirmed my suspicions of a throat infection coupled with a cold.  In and out in 20 minutes with a prescription as long as your arm!  We told them we didn’t want some of what was on the list, you tend to find they prescribe too many things here.  So I am making do with just this little lot!!! lol…..

003

Only good old Chicken Soup will do today!

005

Medications! I’m not taking them all though!

I didn’t sleep very well last night, you tend not to when you have tissues stuffed up your leaky nostrils.  Consequently, I was awake when husband left the house for work at 5.30am (yucksville!) it’s been a while since I have been up so early.  I like it when I do manage to rise early because you can achieve so much more with your day.  Though recently I have been finding it hard to rise before 8.30am.  Perhaps this awaking with the birds lark will put me on track to sleep well tonight and become a motivated early morning riser.  Fingers crossed.

I’ve spent the day so far, washing clothes from the seemingly never ending pile (I so want a washing fairy), watching Eastenders and reading.  I have lately joined a virtual book club thingybob through Facebook.  It’s called Duck Egg Book Club and is being run by a lady from Duck Egg Designs.  I originally discovered the book club when I was browsing the Duck Egg website, the owner Ellie Harrington, has appeared on Kirstie Allsopp’s channel 4 show “Kirsties vintage home” .  Duck Egg have some lovely things, I particularly love the look of their fabric designs, personalised toy boxes and printsI really like the whimsical, romantic, shabby chic look but with clean lines thrown in too.  Should you be so inclined you can check out my Pinterest board Decoration Roundabout for the kind of interior design I adore.

Back to the book club.  I had been looking for one to join for ages and since I am on foreign shores it simply had to be a virtual one, so this one answered my needs entirely.  I wanted to start reading a whole lot more this year and being accountable to a book club is just what will motivate me.  I also figure that reading books that I may not necessarily have chosen by myself will expose me to new genres and perhaps help me to explore my own writing abilities.  So, I have put aside Nicholas Nickleby (don’t fret I will come back to it!) and I started this months book choice with gusto.  In January we are reading “An Officer and a spy” by Robert Harris.  

An officer and a spy by Robert Harris

An officer and a spy by Robert Harris

This is definitely not a book I would have chosen outside of Duck Egg but, so far I am enjoying it.  It’s a  factual dramatisation of The Dreyfus Affair , a political scandal that divided France in the late 1890’s.  The book tells the story from the perspective of Army Colonel George Picquart, who, as the new head of the secret intelligence division, begins reinvestigating to unravel the truth.  It’s quite gripping, a real page turner.  I have also done a bit of background reading about the affair so that I may take the most out of the reading experience.  I’m 50% through according to Kindle, so I should finish on schedule for an online discussion around the end of the month some time.  I may well try my hand at a review as I want to really work on improving my writing.  I am already eager for the next book to be announced!  If you fancy joining a virtual online book club, I say go for it!

What are you reading at the moment? Are you Enjoying?

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream XOXO

♥♥♥

Image Credits

Ginger and Cream

Amazon

 

3 thoughts on “Doctors, Book Clubs and Chicken Soup

  1. Mel says:

    Oh chick not good I find chicken soup always makes you feel better lets home.

    I too love the romantic shabby chic look had our old dresser refurbished last year it looks great really pleased with it.

    Hope you feel better soon.

    Mel
    X

    Like

Leave a Reply

