Lazyitus and Louis Vuitton

Happy Weekend Everyone!!

I’ve got a bit of a case of lazyitus today. I was supposed to be making Gingerbread and cutting out Snowflakes to hang up in a last ditch attempt to bring the spirit of Christmas to our house. Oh well, there is always tomorrow! Instead I have a face mask on, my feet up and the heaters blowing at 30 degrees. Nice and cozy for me is someone else’s idea of a sauna. What can I say? I’m nesh, big fluffy socks adorn my tootsies and I’m still bleeding cold!

I know full well that if I was on home soil today I would be joining the masses cramming into the shops for those last minute bits and bobs. Acting as though there will be no further chance to get supplies for weeks, when in fact everything will be back open on Boxing Day. My cupboards heaving with enough chocolate and sprouts (does anyone actually like them?) to last until next Christmas, ready to be consumed within 2 days flat.

I am not home though and consequently Christmas is a rather less raucous affair. Squirrelling away goodies for weeks has not been required. I am not one bit stressed and although I dearly love Christmas I am equally enjoying not partaking in the pressures that this time of year often brings. We have decided not to have a Turkey this year as we have a whole Duck sitting in the freezer.  I am going to give that a whirl for a change. Christmas Pud has very kindly been supplied by my uncle, who makes his own each year for all the family. A friend delivered Mince Pies early and we have already eaten 3 packets of them. Our bellies are already nicely rounded from overindulgence in all things dried fruity. So you see I don’t need to feel guilty about having spent the last hour or so mooching about looking at handbags.

I have been perusing the images released for Marc Jacobs last ever campaign for Louis Vuitton. Jacobs is leaving the brand after 16 years to concentrate on his own label. After dedicating his last collection for the house to the women who inspire him, Mr Jacob’s chose his favourite muses to feature in his final ad campaign. Photographed by Steven Meisel are; Sofia Copolla, Catherine Deneuve, Edie Campbell, Gisele Bundchen, Fan Bingbing and Caroline de Maigret. Each picture, shot in a simple studio, allows these beautiful ladies to shine, just themselves and LV’s Iconic Bucket Bag. This season’s “NN14” variations, on the bag that was originally designed back in 1932, include feathers, crystals and the famous monogram trimmed in black.

I’m swooning over this feathered version in particular.

Catherine Deneuve for Louis Vuitton - Photographed by Steven Meisel

Catherine Deneuve for Louis Vuitton – Photographed by Steven Meisel

However, I think I am more taken with the women in these shots than I am with the bags. Catherine Deneuve is especially lovely. If I manage to look even a quarter as good at her age I will be a very happy lady indeed. I really love the photographs though. They remind me of those wonderful old portraits you see in stately homes, a magnificent woman staring out, you almost feel you know her or can imagine what she was like at least.

Gisele Bundchen for Louis Vuitton - Photographed by Steven Meisel

Gisele Bundchen for Louis Vuitton – Photographed by Steven Meisel

The Bucket Bag was initially designed as a solution for carrying 5 bottles of champagne in an elegant fashion.  It is a simple, yet classic design.

Edie Campbell for Louis Vuitton - Photographed by Steven Meisel

Edie Campbell for Louis Vuitton – Photographed by Steven Meisel

Edie Campbell famously opened Marc Jacob’s final runway show for Louis Vuitton.  I really love the edgier look of this version of the bag that Edie is photographed with.

Sofia Copolla for Louis Vuitton - Photographed by Steven Meisel

Sofia Copolla for Louis Vuitton – Photographed by Steven Meisel

You can find the full set of photographs at Louis Vuitton.  You can also find further reading about the campaign at Purseblog and fashionista.com

Are any of these bags going on your wish list?  Are you all set for Christmas?

Merry Christmas!!

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream xoxo

Photo Credits – Louis Vuitton by Steven Meisel – Spring 2014

 

Leave a Reply

