Power to the Cauliflower!

One of my dear friends recently raised the subject of cauliflower with me, random I know!! She said she loved cauliflower but needed some new ideas on how to cook it. I recently embarked on a health kick and had been discovering some delightful ways to enjoy said Veg. Having found myself with something I have very rarely had before on my hands, TIME!! I decided to learn a bit more about cauli and share some recipes I have tried and tested.

Has cauliflower long been relegated to a soggy old unappetising blob on the side of your Sunday Roast? Has it been masquerading as watery grey mush or a cheesy congealed lump nestled next to your steak? I want to ask you why? Why do we do this to this to poor old cauli? Because cauliflower it seems is a nutritional dreamfest of a vegetable, capable of many more much tastier offerings. I wonder why many people, myself included, have treated it so poorly over the years.

Cauliflower Power!

I was really quite amazed to discover that cauli has the highest Vitamin C content aside from Citrus Fruits!

It has no fat, anything that has no fat sounds good to me, I want to concentrate on getting the good fats into my diet in the right amounts and so it’s good to know that I can use cauli to fill up on.

It is low in carbs so anyone watching their carb intake will be showing the cauli some loving! It makes a great substitution for mashed potatoes or surprisingly makes a great pizza crust!

Cauli has antioxidant properties – antioxidants for those that don’t know are nutrients found in fruit and veg that can possibly help to prevent Cancer and a number of other health conditions. They do this by slowing down the damage that is done to the bodies tissues caused by Free Radicals (hmm, note to self – research Free Radicals??!!)

As if cauli could get any better? Well it does, there is also Folic Acid, Fibre, Potassium and Vitamin K (this is a good anti-inflammatory, so if your working hard in the gym or suffering from some aches and pains it could help)

Anything else to note about this Wonderous Veggie?

Well, it is from the same family as brocoli and cabbage. It has around 25 Calories per 100 Grams. The head is actually called a “Curd” and the main season for growing and enjoying cauli is December to March.

Some things to be aware of

When you buy a cauli you want to be looking for a nice and clean-looking “Curd” (ooh get me I know the correct name! Lol) the clusters should be closely packed.

If you want to get the most benefit from all that a cauli has to offer then you shouldn’t cook it for long at all. Because as they say, all good things must come to an end! The longer you cook cauli the more nutrients you lose! So try to cook it for a short time as this will also help to minimise those famous cauliflower whiffs! Indeed, those nose twitching stinks get worse the longer the cooking time so it is a win win to keep it short!

So that’s the fruits of my labour of love for cauliflower! So getting back to the brief which was to give my friend (remember her?!) some new ideas on what to do with it! Check out the cauliflower recipes for some interesting ways to get your cook on and lets stop being meany pants to cauli.  Try giving it a starring role in your dinner sometime soon! Hope you enjoy!

If you have any exciting cauliflower Recipes please feel free to share them. Power to the cauliflower!!

Peace and Love

Ginger and Cream xoxo

Leave a Reply

